Definition:-NGOs are difficult to define and classify due to the term’s inconsistent use. NGO, non-profit organizations within defined boundaries excludes NGOs that fall outside each specific boundary. Additionally, it is beneficial for NGO networks to create a classification that allows similar organizations to exchange information more easily. To attempt a classification of NGOs requires a framework, that includes the orientation and the organization's level of operation. An NGO's orientation refers to the type of activities an organization takes on. These activities might include environmental, development, or advocacy work. An NGO's level of operation indicates the scale at which an organization works on, like the difference in work between an international NGO and community or national NGO.

Types of NGOs:

NGO type can be understood by orientation and level of co-operation.

NGO type by orientation"-
1.Charitable orientation;
2.Service orientation;
3.Participatory
4.Empowering orientation

NGO type by level of co-operation
1.Community- Based Organization2.City Wide Organization
3.National NGOs
4.International NGOs

   This is the description and types of NGOs.There are nearly 3900000 NGOs registered in India,Means for every 400 population there is 1 NGO.But still there is a very less impact on the socio economic status of India.Expert says the change needs time.I have been working with the NGOs from the past 3 years,in some projects I worked as staff and as a volunteer in many projects.I did my graduation in computer application, but with a clear intention of changing my society I gave up my IT career though my family opposed it and still opposing it.After working with the many NGOs in Hubli Dharwad twin cities for long time I felt  I took a wrong decision of becoming a Social Soldier.
      There are a few NGOs those have got a clear vision and commitment.One of them is SVYM (Swami Vivekananda Youth Movement).I worked with this organization on Y4D (Youth For Development) program,I believe I got work satisfaction only here.After that I have worked with many NGOs & gained a lot of dissatisfaction and a hate redness towards NGOs.I was working with a NGO (I will not spell it) on HIV,Foster Care Program, what I felt is the superior himself is in confusion.They failed to keep the promises all the time.When asked the instant answer was "Funds Are Not Passed".As a primary worker I was the face of the that NGO in the community.And at last I came out of that embarrassing situation.
Some time I feel NGOs have become a rich peoples tax saving options and I have decided to go back IT sector,and to work solely  with the underprivileged class.These are my experience with the NGOs that I shared,not hurt any one.Comments are welcome.



9/24/2012 03:56:08 am

nice post

Reply
9/30/2012 10:01:18 am

you might be right through those publish

Reply



Leave a Reply.